If you are a member, please login using the orange button at the top of the page to view the full article, or register.

If you are unsure of your membership, or wish to become a member, please contact


Restrictions & Sanctions

Restrictions & sanctions (United Arab Emirates)

Trading restrictions (United Arab Emirates)

Trading restrictions imposed against the United Arab Emirates

Trading restrictions imposed by the United Arab Emirates

  • Arab League Boycott of Israel
    United Arab Emirates signed a normalisation agreement with Israel on 15 September 2020 which once ratified is expected to lead to the ending of all sanctions against Israel.

  • Certain flags are banned from entering UAE ports, anchorage areas, territorial waters and the country's economic zone* unless they are carrying valid classification certificates issued by the International Association of Classification Societies ("IACS").

    According to Circular No.8 2019, the current flag list is as follows: Albania; Belize; Democratic People's Republic of Korea; Sao Tome and Principe; Tonga; Congo "Republic of" and Equatorial Guinea.

    * Pursuant to UAE Federal Law No.19 of 1993 the UAE's economic zone is defined as 200 nautical miles beyond its territorial waters which territorial waters extend 12 nautical miles from the mainland and any island belonging to the UAE.

  • Qatar
    According to information received
  1. Ships flying the Qatari flag or owned by Qatari companies/nationals are banned from UAE ports.
  2. Ships carrying any cargo of Qatari origin may not load/discharge at UAE ports or waters.
  3. Ships are not permitted to load any cargo of UAE origin destined for Qatar.



Search for another port, state or country


Latest Related News

View All News

Elsewhere on BIMCO


Access BIMCO's COVID-19 related articles and advice.

Read more