Marine Insurance Masterclass Online

Marine Insurance Online
  • 07 Dec 2020 12 days
  • Available seats 3
  • Payment: visa visa visa visa

Course price

BIMCO member From EUR 1150
Non-member From EUR 1550

Discounts

10% group discount is available for registering 3 or more participants from the same company.

Overview

The Marine Insurance Masterclass Online is a series of 10 online sessions, focusing on the interrelationship between marine insurance, charter parties and the commodity sales contract. It covers the legal and practical aspects of hull and machinery, cargo claims and P&I. 

What will you learn?

Some of the topics you will cover:

  • insurance markets, products and legal rules 
  • formation of marine insurance contracts 
  • insurable interest, principle of indemnity and coverage

Dates and topics 

Session Date Topic Speaker
Session 1

Monday,
7 December 2020

The insurance markets, products, and legal rules
Baris Soyer
Session 2 Tuesday,
8 December 2020
Formation of marine insurance contracts Baris Soyer
Session 3 Wednesday,
9 December 2020
Insurable interest, principle of indemnity and coverage Baris Soyer
Session 4 Thursday,
10 December 2020
Pre-contractual duty of utmost good faith - an overview in the change in approach caused by the new Marine Insurance Act 2015
Baris Soyer
Session 5 Friday,
11 December 2020
Terms in marine insurance policies
Baris Soyer
Session 6 Monday, 
14 December 2020
Specialist types of cover (1): P&I cover, fixed premium P&I, FD&D cover
SKULD Copenhagen
Session 7 Tuesday, 
15 December 2020
Speciality types of cover (2): hull risks, war, and strike risks
Baris Soyer
Session 8 Wednesday,
16 December 2020
Specialist types of cover (3): kidnap and ransom insurance products (piracy), loss of hire, cyber risks cover, charterer’s liability cover
Baris Soyer
Session 9 Thursday, 
17 December 2020
Claiming under the policy; some practical considerations; sue and labour expenses, measurement of indemnity
Baris Soyer
Session 10 Friday, 
18 December 2020
Case study
Baris Soyer

Starting time (for all sessions):

08:00 Montréal/New York (EST)
13:00 London (GMT)
14:00 Copenhagen (CET)
15:00 Athens (EET)
17:00 Dubai (GST)
21:00 Hong Kong/Singapore (HKT/SGT)

Course programme

Why choose to participate?

The issue of marine insurance is covered broadly in several other BIMCO masterclasses in relation to the special topics discussed. The purpose of this masterclass is to provide the participants with a practical understanding of the types of insurance cover available and how they interrelate and connect with the commercial process. The course will look at insurance from both shipowner and cargo owner perspectives and how the contractual relationships are influenced by the decisions and preferences of the insurance buyer and seller. 

How will this course help your professional development?

 

Course certification

Participants will be given an option of taking a final assessment (1-hour open-book test) at the end of the course, and Certificate of Achievement will be issued with a grade (distinction, merit or pass). Those not taking the assessment will receive a Certificate of Attendance.

Course materials

BIMCO issues electronic course files as an Adobe PDF file enabling you to make personal notes. All documentation and presentations will be in English. Course access details will be provided once the registration is completed. 

Speakers

Baris Soyer

Baris Soyer

Stinne Taiger Ivø

Stinne Taiger Ivø

Organiser

Peter Grube

 

Stay up to date

BIMCO’s training activities covers a wide range of maritime topics. Get updates on new courses and training opportunities.

Follow BIMCO training on

               

Need more information?

Peter Grube

Peter Grube, Head of Training