If you are a member, please login using the orange button at the top of the page to view the full article, or register.

If you are unsure of your membership, or wish to become a member, please contact


Restrictions & Sanctions

Trading restrictions (Cyprus)

Trading restrictions imposed against Cyprus

Trading restrictions imposed by Cyprus

  • The Cypriot government declared the ports of Famagusta, Kyrenia and Karavostassi as prohibited and closed to all vessels, cargo or passenger, since October 1974. Vessels having traded to this part of Cyprus risk being fined heavily and the Master arrested, etc., if later calling at other ports in Cyprus. 

    The United Nations Security Council has issued numerous resolutions aimed, inter alia, at protecting the sovereignty of the Republic of Cyprus. However, to date no sanctions against Northern Cyprus concerning commerce, including vessels loading and/or discharging, have been passed.
  • European Union
  • United Nations Security Council Resolutions

Restrictions & sanctions (Cyprus)


Search for another port, state or country


Latest Related News

View All News

Elsewhere on BIMCO


Access BIMCO's COVID-19 related articles and advice.

Read more