Border Measures against Omicron Variant

To prevent Omicron variant affections, the MLIT strongly requested shipping companies minimize crew changes during December (kindly not to call in Japan without cargo works).

Currently, the number of accepted entries into Japan is 3500 daily and a limited 100 passengers for each flight.

The Japanese update as of December 6 (effective from 0000JST on December 8).

The Countries required quarantine period is ten (10) days are;

Angola, Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Republic of South Africa, Zambia, and Zimbabwe

(PCR Test is required on the third day, sixth day, and tenth day after the arrival)

The Countries required quarantine period is six (6) days are;

Australia (NSW, NT), Germany, Israel, Italy, Korea, the Netherlands, Portugal, Sweden, and the United Kingdom

(PCR Test is required on the third day and sixth day after the arrival)

The Countries required quarantine period is three (3) days are;

Australia (ACT), Austria, Brazil (Sao Paulo), Belgium, Canada (Alberta, British Columbia, Ontario, Quebec), Croatia, Czech, Denmark, France, Greece, Hong Kong, India (Karnataka, Maharashtra), Ireland, Nigeria, Norway, Reunion, Romania, Saudi Arabia, Spain, Switzerland, the United Arab Emirates, the United States of America (California, Connecticut, Colorado, Hawaii, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, New York, Pennsylvania, Washington)

(PCR Test is required on the third day after the arrival)

If the on-signer boards the same flight with an infected person of the Omicron variant, the on-signer must be quarantined and take PCR testing every two days.

The above list is for seafarers coming by air only.

Border Measures against Delta Variant and Others

The Japanese update as of December 6 (effective from 0000JST on December 8).

In addition to the above against Omicron Variant, the following Countries are designated for quarantine.

The Countries required quarantine period is ten (10) days are; None

The Countries required quarantine period is six (6) days are; Peru, Trinidad and Tobago, and Venezuela, (PCR Test is required on the third day and sixth day after the arrival)

The Countries required quarantine period is three (3) days are;

Argentina, Colombia, Costa Rica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Haiti, Kenya, Mongol, Morocco, Nepal, Pakistan, Philippines, the Russian Federation (Moscow City, Primorsky Krai), Suriname, Turkey, Ukraine, and Uzbekistan

(PCR Test is required on the third day after the arrival)